I am a Muslim.

Islam Emblem  I am a Muslim.

You might have heard about me

Whether it be social media, radio, or your television screens

I am feared all over the world.

In these few months my life has whirled and twirled

into knots that will never be untied

for my faith in humanity has slowly died.

You’ve seen ISIS and their devious intentions

But please don’t be fooled to the point of ignorance

ISIS does not represent who we are and what we preach.

Unity, love, and above else peace is what we teach.

Islam does not promote violence.

It’s time for Muslims to break the silence.

I have one question that lingers in my mind.

Why am I labelled a terrorist when I too fear of their malicious minds

I only wish for peace but you know what I see?

A man running for president of the United States

Repeating history by spreading ethnicity hate

A mosque vandalised

Only because our religion is despised

Murder of three Muslim university students

How could someone do this?

Syrian refugees had nothing to do with the matter

People who have lost their laughter

A Muslim taxi driver shot in the head

Muslims are walking on thin thread

Not sure when we could be murdered and shot dead

You wish for ISIS to burn in flames

How can you claim

that you are any better than ISIS

You are letting them rise

When you speak ill of others

When you commit vicious crimes

I need you to be aware.

I need you to care.

That you’ve been hurting others

Stand up for you brothers

Protect you sisters

We’ve become desperate.

We’ve become helpless.

I am Muslim.

You might have heard about me

Whether it be social media, radio, or your television screens

All I ask is for you not to fear me

For I believe in love and peace keeping.

Please do not let your hate blind you.

It’s time we make a break through.Islam Emblem


Asna A

Image Credit:IranPol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *